Overcoming an Unusual Fear

Afraid of the Limelight

I still remember his comment. Many years ago, a fellow with whom I worked told me that I might be “afraid of success.” (This actually has a name: “achievemephobia”!)

Until my friend has spoken with me, I’d never heard of such a thing. Who’d be afraid of success? Don’t people fear failure instead?

But I took what he said seriously and wondered if there might be some truth to it. If I’m trying to advance in life, I assume that I want to succeed. I’d look for a breakthrough, an offer, some opportunity, or steady progress that gets me where I want to go.

But do I sabotage myself? Do I keep myself down for no obvious reason? Am I more comfortable with mediocrity or even failure than with success?

Maybe. Here are three factors.

Responsibility

If I’m successful, I have to maintain what it took to get me there. That can be intimidating. Success, whether in work, relationships, education, or sports, requires ongoing effort. It’s easier to not succeed!

I have to be careful not to cave in to laziness. God’s grace doesn’t foster passivity. It empowers me to accomplish His will (see Acts 14:26; 1 Corinthians 15:10; 2 Corinthians 6:1). That’s success!

Qualification

If I win, if I achieve something prominent, then people will notice me. That’s great, but I wonder if they’ll see through me and discover who I really am. I’ll be embarrassed because I’m not really qualified!

Psychologists call this phenomenon, “impostor syndrome.”  I preached on this subject back on March 16, 2014. (The sermon was entitled, “Doing Your Best When You’re at Your Worst.” You can find the podcast at http://vifonline.org/media/sermons.) Many people, widely recognized for their talents and skills, nevertheless feel fraudulent and fear being exposed.

Paul the apostle believed that Jesus qualified him to serve the Lord (see 1 Corinthians 14:1-5). I’ve learned the same lesson. Jesus is my qualification.

Balance

When something good happens, I sometimes find myself bracing for bad news. Why? I expect something bad to follow soon after a blessing. I admit it’s not a healthy way to think, but I catch myself in this mindset more than I’d like to admit!

If that’s my attitude, it won’t be surprising if I encounter success sporadically.

Yes, following Jesus comes at a price and I have to count the cost (Luke 14:28). I can’t avoid trouble (John 16:33). But Christ taught that God delights to bless His own (Luke 12:32). He will give Christians everything they need (Romans 8:32).

This is a process. Victory doesn’t arrive overnight; Jesus has to prepare our hearts to handle His blessings. I’m willing to undergo the daily disciplines of His transforming grace to make me into the person He wants me to be.

How about you? What fears hold you back? And how is Christ helping you overcome them?

About Bob Condly // Associate Pastor

I am a follower of the Lord Jesus Christ, husband to Grace, father to three children, and associate pastor at Victory International Fellowship in Brookfield, WI.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Overcoming an Unusual Fear

  1. Geri Grad says:

    Thank you..this is a powerful lesson to learn..I would like to add this to my blog if it’s alright with you..Blessings

    • Bob Condly says:

      I don’t know, Geri. The post might spread around. People may like it. That would make me, what, successful?

      Sure, go ahead! And thank you for the compliment!

  2. Vanessa says:

    This is very good. I’ve caught myself doing a lot of these things . I need to actively stop, and step up to do what I’m supposed to do.

Leave a comment